Home » News

KU English department celebrates Golden Jubilee

The English Department of Kakatiya University  is celebrating  its Golden Jubilee this year.   Established in 1967 as one of the four departments in erstwhile PG Centre of Kakatya University, the English Department completed its glorious fifty years .  To marks this occasion the alumni meet  has been organized on Saturday the 31st January, 2017 which coincides with the superannuation of the department K. Damodar Rao.  To share their memories and affinity with the department as many as 300 alumni members  assembled in the Senate Hall of the University which was presided over by K. Damodar Rao, the Head. Telangana Legislative Assembly Speaker – who was also an alumnus of the department – participated as Chief Guest. Speaking on the occasion.  He  became nostalgic recalling his campus days.   He revealed that the campus life has shaped his life and was responsible for taking a different path,  other than teaching profession.  He regarded universities as the temples of modern India.  He wished that abundant youth power in the country was  to be utilized for development.  Reminding his  association with Dr. Jayashankar, he said that a district has been formed after his name to do justice to the back wards tribes likes Gonds, Chenchus and others.  Giving a detailed account of the department head K. Damodar Rao said  that during the last fifty years, the department made long strides in its development.  To its credit it has been publishing Kakatiy Journal of English Studies (KJES) annually research journal continuously for the last forty years. It has brought out special issues on Rabindranath Tagore, Mulk Raj Anand  and others. Former students wanted the alumini meet to be an annual event.  On this occasion, retired teachers of the department Prof. K. Indrasena Reddy, Prof. P. Mallikarjuna Rao, Prof. M. Rajagopalachari, Prof. J. Yellaiah were felicitated in a befitting way.  A souvenir of the department commemorating the Golden Jubilee Year  was also released.  Registrar Prof. M.V. Ranga Rao, IQAC Director Prof. P. Krishnama Chari, Prof. G. Damodar, Prof. K. Purushotham, Prof. V. Srinivas, Prof. S. Latha, Dr. V. Jagan were among those present.