Home » Department of Physics
  • dept5

  • dept2

  • dept3

  • phy


History of the Department:

The Department of Physics at Warangal was started in June 1968 in Post Graduate Centre of Osmania University. The P.G. Centre was upgraded into Kakatiya University in

August 1976.

The first Vice Chancellorship of this university was Late. Prof.K.Venkata Ramaiah (Professor of Physics). The Department of Physics offers teaching programmes in Physics and Electronics viz., at the B.Sc. at University Arts & Science College, aided and private affiliated colleges. M.Sc., and Ph.D., programmes at the Department in University College and affiliated colleges under Kakatiya University.

The Department has vigorous ongoing research programmes to train Ph.D. scholars and has achieved national and international recognition in the areas of Condensed Matter Physics, Spectroscopy, Theoretical Physics, Solid State Physics, Materials Science and Nuclear Radiation Physics. The specific areas of research include Crystal Growth Characterization, Molecular Spectroscopy, Density Functional Theory, Glasses and Ceramics, Liquid Crystals, Thin films, Semiconductors, Nanostructured Materials, Ferroelectrics and Gamma Ray absorption coefficients. Besides developing its own research programmes, the department has strong interactions with national and international institutes/laboratories.

The department has been selected by the UGC under SAP at DRS-I and DRS-II level to strengthen teaching and research programmes through the financial Assistance. Present intake into the M.Sc. is 42 (35Regular +7 SFS);

The specializations offered in M.Sc. (Final) are:

  • Electronics
  • Solid State Physics
  • Nano Science

This department has produced 130 Ph.D. s so far. The department also has distinction of having very good scholars spread in well reputed national academic institutions like IIT, Roorki, NIT, Warangal; University of Hyderabad; University of Rajasthan and other State universities; Research Institutes like CPRI, IOFS, etc., and also in Oversees Institutions.